Spotlight

Ballerina

A thousand spotlights
The fluid babble of the audience
The stage, gleaming like the sun
All that open space
A map, unrolled, just waiting for an explorer
Inside my ballet shoes my feet begin to itch
Everything is holding its breath
My ears ring with unheard silence
I am ready.

Without warning, the orchestra burst into song
And audience are struck dumb in awe
The music swells
The high, sweet notes of the violins
The patient cellos singing softly
The trumpets crying out in pride
All intermingling, blending
Separating and joining
Reaching higher and higher
Soaring above the clouds
A skyscraper of music

I am more than ready:
And I rise on tiptoe
My arms in the air
And fly out of the wings and across the stage
I dance
Mindlessly
The open stage surrounding me,
The audience adoring me!
The spotlights searing my eyes,
The orchestra filling my ears and
Making them throb with music, my heartbeat
And this moment is so perfect
That I must be dreaming…

But then I slip in the mud
Trip, begin to fall
Barely catch myself
And stand upright,
Facing the headlights.

I am not a ballerina after all.
I am a just a girl
Standing, alone, in a muddy field
In the glare my cars headlights
Dancing my solo in my pyjamas.

Headlights

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Dad
    Jan 30, 2013 @ 09:15:38

    Excellent! Loved it! Just a couple of minor points – ‘car headlights’ mentioned twice – suggest using a different line the first time, so as to keep the suprise for the final verse/stanza. The second time, it should read “of” my car’s headlights (word missing). Otherwise – well written, moving, emotive – great!

    Reply

  2. joetwo
    Jan 30, 2013 @ 10:10:07

    Nice dream image. That is an old picture it and write one isn’t it?

    Reply

  3. deanabo
    Jan 30, 2013 @ 21:25:21

    Nice twist at the end!

    Reply

  4. Anne Schilde
    Jan 31, 2013 @ 03:37:38

    Nice! And an old PI&W picture too. The patient cellos really struck me.

    Reply

  5. South African Nutter
    Jan 31, 2013 @ 16:55:47

    this is tototototototally awesome!!!!

    Reply

  6. Ermilia
    Feb 01, 2013 @ 12:21:30

    Beautiful. 🙂 I loved this part – ‘And fly out of the wings and across the stage/I dance/Mindlessly’ Love the touch of mindlessly. Stunning imagery. Thanks for sharing your great writing with us, Tanitha! 🙂

    – Ermisenda

    Reply

What's Your Opinion?

Archives

