Seedling

Seedlings
 

When did you become so important to me?

 

Your name was such a small word. A pill, easily swallowed

Only it didn’t leave me; travelled to the epicentre,

Burrowed itself in my heart

A seed taking root in fertile earth

 

I didn’t notice for so long; it was only when

The pain of being around you became unbearable

I couldn’t see it, I didn’t know

But the seedling had grown and grown and filled

All the space. Nowhere left to go

 

So it split my heart wide open

I noticed then, but too late to do anything:

Already an unstoppable force

Bursting through my flesh, ripping me to shreds

Splintering my bones. Ruining me.

 

I am broken by you, you have undone the tendons

That knitted me together

My skin peeled off, my tender flesh exposed

For the world to see.

These wounds I bear belong to you.

 

You’re making me live, and you kill me slowly.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Anne Schilde
    Jan 23, 2013 @ 22:31:11

    I really like the line, “Your name was such a small word.”

    Reply

  2. Dad
    Jan 24, 2013 @ 20:12:50

    Different – deep, mysterious, paradoxical – a love poem that talks about pain, hurt, being torn apart? Small clues like “important to me – you’re making me live” tip the balance back, but it’s a close thing…..

    Reply

  3. Richard Kingdon
    Jan 24, 2013 @ 20:13:51

    Mature poetry!

    Date: Wed, 23 Jan 2013 18:22:42 +0000 To: richard.kingdon@hotmail.co.uk

    Reply

What's Your Opinion?

Archives

