Hunger Games Movie

The first book of the Hunger Games trilogy is being made into a movie! I am very excited as the books are pure genius. In case you haven’t read them, this is a brief synopsis:

In a not-too-distant future, North America has collapsed, weakened by drought, fire, famine, and war, to be replaced by Panem, a country divided into the Capitol and 12 districts. Each year, two young representatives from each district are selected by lottery to participate in The Hunger Games. Part entertainment, part brutal intimidation of the subjugated districts, the televised games are broadcasted throughout Panem as the 24 participants are forced to eliminate their competitors, literally, with all citizens required to watch by law. When 16-year-old Katniss’ young sister, Prim, is selected as the mining district’s female representative, Katniss volunteers to take her place. She and her male counterpart, Peeta, the son of the town baker who seems to have all the fighting skills of a lump of bread dough, will be pitted against bigger, stronger representatives who have trained for this their whole lives.

I’ve have been worried that Jennifer Lawrence (who plays Katniss) didn’t look right for the part. She was too blonde, too grown-up, and far too perfect to portray Katniss. But I am happy to say that,  judging from the picture above, she is beginning to looks how I imagined her and how she is described in the books. Rue also looks the part, but she’s too cute! I will cry for sure when I watch the movie.

Hopefully it will be coming out on the 23rd March 2012 and will be a PG-13. I absolutely recommend getting down the cinemas and watching this movie. Or, if you like, read the books. They are so clever, so gripping, so creative, that you won’t be able to put them down.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Meglomaniac
    Jul 06, 2011 @ 18:57:18

    Who’s the girl in the bottom right? ;]
    I fudging love this series. Thank you Gina for introducing them to me, I owe you one.<3

    Reply

  2. Elizabeth
    Oct 02, 2011 @ 14:39:25

    I love the books, they are my favorite! Couldn’t put them down and I will bawl my eyes out at the movies! And she really does look like a good Katniss. Just too clean: almost like, come on, how can you live in the wilderness for two weeks without getting dirty!

    Anyways, I just think that you can NOT see the movie if you haven’t read the books. Trust me its a must read it will leave you crying with a knot in your stomach. I just personally can’t wait to see who gets to be Prim. By the way, they cant screw this movie up or I will… well, actually I will do nothing… but I will be upset!

    Reply

    • Tanitha Smith
      Oct 04, 2011 @ 18:04:52

      Ohmigawsh I totally agree with you. I wonder who Prim is? And I do hope she gets more dirty/messy at the end of the Hunger Games, or it won’t look anything like the book describes. I have high expectations for this film. If they don’t meet them, I’ll be disapointed! :]

      Reply

What's Your Opinion?

Archives

