SCHOOL’S OUT!

Easter Holidays, at last!

Today was my last day of school, which meant Final Assembly. Everybody hates FA! The entire school crowds into the sports hall, and we sit for an mind-numbingly boring hour on the freezing concrete, listening to the teachers give award after award. It’s incredibly tedious, but our school has an age-old tradition. At the end of the assembly, our headmistress hands over to the sixth-formers and we all chant:

Sixth Form: Oggie, oggie, oggie!

School: Oi, oi, oi!

Sixth Form: Oggie, oggie, oggie!

School: Oi, Oi, Oi!

Sixth Form: Oggie!

School: Oi!

Sixth Form: Oggie!

School: Oi!

Sixth Form: OGGIE! OGGIE! OGGIE!

School: OI! OI! OI!

The Oggie symbolises the end of school, and makes you leave on a high note. When I think of it, the word that comes to mind is: FREEDOM! I can’t wait till I’m in sixth form. But for the next two weeks, I have utter relaxation. The sun is shining, I don’t have to carry my achingly heavy bag to school any more, and a huge pile of books await! It’s going to be bliss…

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. thalia
    Apr 08, 2011 @ 16:29:07

    Man, my butt was numb by the time I managed to pull myself off that floor… They should do something to make it less painful, physically, and mentally.

    Reply

  2. Tanitha Smith
    Apr 08, 2011 @ 16:33:30

    I agree. The small of my back is so painfull! If I had a locker so I didn’t have to carry my bag around, plus a chair for assemberly, then I’d be fine.

    Reply

What's Your Opinion?

Archives

